New Moons and Holy Days


Yahweh’s True Calendar is really so simple a child can understand it. We observe the New Moon of Abib (also called Nisan) by first observing the state of the barley in the fields around Jerusalem. This is done a few days before the New Moon. If the barley is “abib” (meaning, nearing the time for harvest, i.e., ripening stage ), then the coming New Moon begins the month of Abib. If the barley is not yet “abib,” then the New Moon begins the 13th month called Adar II. No need for esoteric and complicated mathematical formulae which only the “initiated” can understand fully. Yahweh plainly declares, "Observe the month of Abib, and keep the passover unto thy Elohim: for in the month of Abib thy Elohim brought thee forth out of Egypt by night."  (Deut. 16:1)

A NEW LOOK AT GOD'S TRUE CALENDAR

Projected New Moon Dates 2018/2019, as sighted from Jerusalem, Israel:

Month        True New Moon Date  

Abib          Eve Sunday, March 18
Iyar            Eve Tuesday, April 17
Sivan         Eve Wednesday, May 16
Tammuz   Eve Thursday, June 14
Av              Eve Shabbat, July 14
Elul            Eve Sunday, August 12
Tishri         Eve Monday, September 10
Cheshvan   Eve Wednesday, October 10
Kislev        Eve Thursday, November 8
Tevet          Eve Shabbat, December 8
Shevat        Eve Monday, January 7, 2019
Adar           Eve Tuesday, February 5
Abib           Eve Thursday,  March 7

For more or recent new moon information visit:  www.karaite-korner.org

PROJECTED HOLY DAYS FOR 2018:

Spring Holy Days                     New Moon Sighted, Eve Sunday, March 18 (certain visibility in Israel). Aviv 1st Monday Mar. 19
​Passover Seder                           Evening of Sunday, Abib 14, April 1st (after sunset)
1st Day Unleavened Bread        Monday, Abib 15, April 2 
Wave Sheaf Offering                  Tuesday, Abib 16, April 3 – Omer Counting Begins (16th of Abib)
7th Day Unleavened Bread        Sunday, Abib 21, April 8
Pentecost (Shavuot)                   Tuesday, Sivan 6, May 22 – Omer Counting Ends (50th day!) 

Fall Holy Days                          New Moon Sighted, Eve Monday, September 10
Trumpets (Yom Teruah)             Tishri 1, Tuesday, September 11 
Atonement (Yom Kippur)           Tishri 10, Thursday, September 20
1st Day Tabernacles (Sukkot)   Tishri 15, Tuesday, September 25
7th Day Tabernacles (Sukkot)   Tishri 21, Monday, October 1
8th Day (Shemini Atzeret)         Tishri 22, Tuesday, October 2

CURRENT MOON
Jerusalem Time
8 hours ahead