New Moons and Holy Days


Yahweh’s True Calendar is really so simple a child can understand it. We observe the New Moon of Abib (also called Nisan) by first observing the state of the barley in the fields around Jerusalem. This is done a few days before the New Moon. If the barley is “abib” (meaning, nearing the time for harvest, i.e., ripening stage ), then the coming New Moon begins the month of Abib. If the barley is not yet “abib,” then the New Moon begins the 13th month called Adar II. No need for esoteric and complicated mathematical formulae which only the “initiated” can understand fully. Yahweh plainly declares, "Observe the month of Abib, and keep the passover unto thy Elohim: for in the month of Abib thy Elohim brought thee forth out of Egypt by night."  (Deut. 16:1)

A NEW LOOK AT GOD'S TRUE CALENDAR

Projected New Moon Dates 2016/2017, as sighted from Jerusalem, Israel:

Month        True New Moon Date  

Abib          Eve Friday, April 8
Iyar            Eve Shabbat, May 7
Sivan         Eve Monday, June 6
Tammuz    Eve Tuesday, July 5
Av              Eve Wednesday, August 3
Elul            Eve Friday, September 2
Tishri         Eve Sunday, October 2
Cheshvan   Eve Monday, October 31
Kislev        Eve Wednesday, November 30
Tevet          Eve Friday, December 30
Shevat        Eve Sunday, January 29, 2017
Adar           Eve Monday, February 27
Abib           Eve Wednesday,  March 29

For more or recent new moon information visit:  www.karaite-korner.org

PROJECTED HOLY DAYS FOR 2016:

Spring Holy Days                     New Moon Sighted Eve Friday, April 8 (potential visibility in Israel)
​Passover Seder                           Evening of Friday, April 22 (after sunset)
1st Day Unleavened Bread        Shabbat, April 23 
Wave Sheaf Offering                 Sunday, April 24 – Omer Counting Begins (16th of Abib)
7th Day Unleavened Bread        Friday, April 29
Pentecost (Shavuot)                   Sunday, June 12 – Omer Counting Ends (50th day!) 

Autumn Holy Days                   New Moon Sighting (very likely) Eve Sunday, October 2
Trumpets (Yom Teruah)             Monday, October 3 
Atonement (Yom Kippur)          Wednesday, October 12
1st Day Tabernacles (Sukkot)    Monday, October 17
7th Day Tabernacles (Sukkot)    Sunday, October 23
8th Day (Shemini Atzeret)         Monday, October 24

CURRENT MOON
Jerusalem Time
8 hours ahead